Sábado, 19 Agosto 2017
Ultimas noticias
Casa » World Series of Poker champion to be crowned, win $8 million

World Series of Poker champion to be crowned, win $8 million

01 Noviembre 2016

Lee Davy brings you updates from the World Series of Poker Main Event as nine players battle it out for the title of poker's Champion of the World and $8m in prize money. Jerry Wong, Griffin Benger, and Kenny Hallaert were knocked out in 8th, 7th, and 6th places earning them $1,100,076, $1,250,190 and $1,464,258 respectively.

The 34-year-old has a seat at the table after being a cheerleader for friends the last two years, according to the Las Vegas Review-Journal. The $10,000 buy-in event began back in July with a field of 6737 players vying for a total prize pool of $63,327,800 and $8 million earmarked for the eventual victor. Those friends include Jorryt Van Hoof, who came in third in 2014, and Pierre Neuville, who placed seventh a year ago.

Hallaert has been working with several coaches to see any holes in his game.

With Ruzicka out of the way it left Michael Ruane as the table short stack and after being bullied by Cliff Josephy blind after blind Ruane eventually moved all-in over the top of a Nguyen open, holding [Kh] [Qh], only for Nguyen to call and hold with [Ah] [Js] and retake the chip lead. The three remaining players will return on Tuesday where they will play down to a victor.

Canadian Griffin Benger couldn't make it past the first of three nights in the World Series of Poker final, but will still earn a hefty payday for his efforts. The nine players who made it through the grueling multiday poker marathon are already guaranteed at least $1 million each.

The tournament, which began in May, is a 45-year tradition that got its start with casino owner Benny Binion as an invitation-only event.

World Series of Poker champion to be crowned, win $8 million